The Foreign Affairs Ministers of Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) are meeting to discuss the announced withdrawal of Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger Republic from the regional body.
The meeting at the ECOWAS Commission in Abuja is also to consider the political situation in Senegal where the President postponed the presidential poll, leading to massive protests.

According to ECOWAS Commission President, Dr. Alieu Touray the meeting will consider the notification of withdrawal of the three countries and wider implementations.

Touray stressed that as a community, this is the best time for the sub-region to stay together despite the challenges.

He reminded the gathering that ECOWAS is not an institution but a community.

February 8, 2024

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *